Welcome to USBBY

The United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY) serves as the U.S. national section of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), which was founded to promote international understanding and good will through books for children and adolescents.

2016 New Year's message from our IBBY President, Wally De Doncker

IBBY Announces Winners of the 2016 Hans Christian Andersen Award

Patricia Aldana, Chair of the jury for the Hans Christian Andersen Award of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) today announced the winners of the 2016 Hans Christian Andersen Award considered to be the children's Nobel. IBBY is very grateful to Nami Island Inc. in the Republic of Korea for their sponsorship of this prestigious award.

They are: Rotraut Susanne Berner of Germany for Illustration. And Cao Wenxuan of China for Writing.

More details...

International Children's Book Day 2016

The sponsor for International Children's Book day for 2016 is Brazil.

Click here for more information about ICBD 2016 or here to read the ICBD 2016 poem Once upon a time... by Luciana Sandroni

USBBY Co-Sponsored Session at International Literacy Association Annual Convention in Boston

Shelving Mental Illness: Exploring and Experiencing Mental Health in Young Adult Fiction
Teresa Toten
Random House Kids Books

Sunday, July 10, 2016 4:00-5:00 PM
Room 103 John B. Hyne Veterans’ Memorial Convention Center
Boston, Massachusetts

Most teens read not only to be entertained and to escape, but in varying degree of desperation, to find themselves on the page. This session will examine the considerable power of YA fiction that dives into mental health issues and the novel's power to validate, elucidate and entertain young adults whose identities are ever changing on fast shifting sand.

Teresa Toten and her books have been honored with many awards. Most recently her book, The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B, received the Schneider Family Teen Book Award in the US, and the prestigious Governor General Award in Canada.

Photo: Matthew Wiley

Call for Papers: International Committee Focus Panel Session
Deadline: September 15, 2015

44th Annual Children's Literature Association Conference
Hosted by The University of South Florida
Hilton Tampa Downtown Hotel
June 15-17, 2017

The International Committee of the Children's Literature Association is planning a special country focus panel on Cuba, to be presented at the 44th Children's Literature Association Conference, held in Tampa, Florida, and hosted by The University of South Florida from June 15 through 17, 2017. The committee invites paper proposals that focus on any aspect of Cuban children's literature including Cuban children's literature created in the Diaspora. The Committee is especially interested in proposals that address the conference theme of "Imagined Futures." (Please see the definition of the conference theme at www.childlitassn.org/2017).

Two abstracts will be selected, and the authors will be awarded a travel grant of $500 each. Those papers selected for the International Focus panel will accompany a presentation by the Cuban Distinguished Scholar who will be invited by the Committee to present at the conference.

Send 500-word abstracts accompanied by up to 250-word bios to the International Committee, Children's Literature Association, at mbalina@iwu.edu with the subject line "International Committee Paper Submission." The deadline for submissions is September 15, 2016.

Authors of proposals selected for the panel will be notified by October 1, 2015. The International Committee encourages those scholars who are not selected for the International Focus panel to submit an abstract through the general Call for Proposals so that Cuban children's literature will become part of other panels at the conference. The call deadline for the 2017 ChLA conference is October 15, 2016.

The 11th IBBY Regional Conference Sponsored
Was a GREAT Success!

Please Join us for our next conference
October 2017
Seattle, Washington

Click HERE for post conference reviews, blogs, articles and important documents from the conference

2016 IBBY World Congress is in Auckland, New Zealand August 18-21st 2016
Literature in a Multi-Literate World

For more information, visit the website to learn more about the congress.

IBBY/REFORMA Children in Crisis Project for Refugee Children on the U.S. Southern Border
REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking, has initiated a new program to assist refugee children stranded at the U.S. border. The Books and Backpacks for Unaccompanied Refugee Children project seeks to collect donations for the unaccompanied refugee children who have been arriving from Latin America countries by the thousands to the U.S. These children are facing difficulty during processing and must endure long spans of time in detention centers across the nation. To donate, go to the Make a Donation Today link at the bottom of this page.

Ratify the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child
The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child needs to be ratified by the U.S. Senate. This treaty is the legally binding international instrument to guarantee the basic human rights of children; right to survival; to develop the fullest; to protection from harmful influences, abuse and exploitation; and to participate fully in family, cultural and social life.

This document was reviewed during the Reagan administration and signed by President Clinton, but never ratified by the U.S. Senate. One hundred ninety-three members of the United Nations have ratified this treaty. Only the United States has not! What an embarrassment for our country -- the country of the document's origin!

Join the United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY) in support of assuring rights for every child.

Click this link and sign!

More News

Syrian Refugee Relief Efforts

Awards & List Announcements

Author Feature

Book Discussion in a Box

Calls for Papers and Proposals

Quick Links: