[Site Map] Home - Awards and Lists

Awards and Lists

USBBY Outstanding International Books List
Beginning in 2006 USBBY has selected an honor list of international books for young people. The USBBY Outstanding International Books List is published each year in the February issue of School Library Journal and as a bookmark. (more)
Bridge To Understanding Award
The Bridge to Understanding Award formally acknowledges the work of adults who create programs that use children´s books to explore cultures around the world in order to promote international understanding among children. (more)
IBBY Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities List
Biennially, the IBBY Documentation Centre of Books for Young People with Disabilities, housed in Norway, publishes an annotated, illustrated catalog of Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities. (more)
Hans Christian Andersen Medal
Frequently referred to as the "Little Nobel Prize," the Hans Christian Andersen Medal is awarded biennially to the living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children´s literature. (more)
IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award
The IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award is given to projects that make a lasting contribution to the promotion of reading for children and young people. (more)
IBBY Honour List
The IBBY Honour List is a biennial selection of outstanding, recently published books, honoring writers, illustrators and translators from IBBY member countries. (more)
Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is presented every year. This international prize was established by the Swedish government to honor the memory of author Astrid Lindgren and to promote childrenīs and youth literature around the world. (more)
Sydney Taylor Book Award
The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience. Presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries since 1968, the award encourages the publication and widespread use of quality Judaic literature. Gold medals are presented in three categories: Younger Readers, Older Readers, and Teen Readers. Honor Books are awarded silver medals, and Notable Books are named in each category.
2013 Sydney Taylor Book Award Winners