USBBY COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS 2020

(Updated April 2020)

National Selection Committees

USBBY Outstanding International Books Committee

Two-year appointment. Select annual list of the best books from other countries published or distributed in the USA during the previous year. Attendance is required at the selection meeting in December. The year in parentheses is always when the list is announced at ALA Midwinter, the end of January of that year. Therefore, the appointment ends in January of the year given.

Chair: Anamaría López Anderson (through 2020)

Past Chair: Patrick Gall
Board Liaison: Wendy Stephens

Assist. Chair/Member: Bettie Parsons Barger (through 2021)

Member: Deanna Day (through 2020)
Member: Mary Napoli (through 2020)
Member: Quentin Russell (through 2020)
Member: Nancy Johnson (through 2021)
Member: Wendy Stephens (through 2021)
Member: Jennifer Graff (through 2021)
Member: Patricia Bloem (through 2021)

Bridge to Understanding Award Committee (on hiatus)

This award is given annually to a program that promotes international understanding among children through books. Two-year appointment. Solicit nominations, select winner, publicize the award.

Dorothy Briley Memorial Lecturer Selection Committee

Meets in even years. Select the Dorothy Briley Memorial Lecturer, a lecture presented at each biennial IBBY Regional Conference by a speaker from outside the United States. (One Member from CBC-one or two members of the previous committee, one member of the board and 3 members at large)

Chair: Terrell Young (through 2021)
Board Liaison/CBC rep: Ellen Myrick (through 2021)
Member: Linda Pavonetti (through 2021)
Previous Member: Mary Kemper (through 2021)
Member: Paula Holmes (through 2021)

Nominating Committees for International Awards and Projects

Hans Christian Andersen Award Committee

This prestigious award is presented to an author and illustrator of international stature at each biennial IBBY World Congress. Two-year appointment. Nominate U.S. candidates for the awards to IBBY, prepare dossiers. Also choose books for the biennial IBBY Honor List

Chair: Terry Hong (2021)
Past Chair: Laretta Henderson
Board Liaison: Lisa Von Drasek
March are: Salvadora (20

Member: Maria Salvadore (2021)

Member: Patty Dean (2021)

Member: Jeremiah Henderson (2021) Member: Gillian Engberg (2021)

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award Committee

Two-year appointment. Nominate U.S. candidates for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, given annually by the Swedish government to an author, illustrator, storyteller, or promoter of children's books.

Chair: Maria Acevedo (through 2022 nominations)

Past Chair: Kathy Short
Board Liaison: Caroline Ward
Member: Karin Snelson (2021)

Member: Barbara Scotto (through 2021)

IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award Committee

Two-year appointment. Recommend a project to be nominated for the award, given biennially to groups or institutions that have made a lasting contribution to reading programs for children and young people.

Chair: Elizabeth Poe (through 2021)

Board Liaison: Susan Polos

Member: Laura Shovan (through 2021)
Member: Sue Parsons (through 2021)
Member: Denise Davila (through 2021)

USBBY Committee for the IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award (chair plus 3)

Two-year appointment. Recommend an individual to be nominated for the award, given biennially to an individual who is working to promote the expansion and development of children's reading.

Chair: Kathy Short (through 2021)

Board Liaison: Evie Freeman

Member: Doris Gebel (through 2021)
Member: Susan Corapi (through 2021)
Member: Meredith Davis (through 2021)

Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities

Two- or three-year appointment. Select U.S. books for this biennial IBBY list and traveling exhibit

Chair Jared Crossley (through 2021)

Past Chair: Linda Parsons Board Liaison: Amy McClure

Member: Dawn Menge (through 2021)
Member: Catherine Sorenson (2021)
Member: Danilo Baylen (through 2021)
Member: Sunny Wee (through 2021)

Other USBBY Committees

2021 IBBY Regional Conference Planning Committee

This committee serves for a two year term starting in the even year preceding the conference.

Chair: Ellen Myrick (through 2021)
Co-Chair: Ann Neely (through 2021)

Board Liaison: Evie Freeman (through 2021)

Member: Wendy Stephens (through 2021) Breakout Session Chair

Member: Lisa Von Drasek (through 2021)
Member: Deb Wooten (through 2021)
Member: Terry Young (through 2021)

Member: Alison MacLachlan (IBBY Canada)
Member: Julie Danielson (through 2021)
Member: Sandra Farag (through 2021)

2021 IBBY Regional Conference Local Arrangements Committee

This committee works closely with the Regional Conference Program Planning Committee, once the site for the conference is selected.

Chair: Ann Neely Board Liaison: Ellis Vance

Member: Christina Moorehead
Member: Bettie Parsons Barger
Member: Myrick Marketing staff

Member: Mary Kemper

Member: Other local people identified by Ann

Alida Cutts USBBY Lifetime Membership Award Awarded at IBBY Regional Conference

Chair: Janelle Mathis (2021)
Member/Board Liaison Claudette McLinn (2021)
Member: Miriam Martinez (2021)

Membership Committe

Two-year (end of year) appointment. Recommended that members should represent sponsor organizations: ALA, CBC, IRA & NCTE) Charged with membership recruitment and membership activities.

Chair: Tucker Stone
Board Liaison: Ellis Vance
Member: Marion Rocco
Member: Jim Stiles
Member: Susan Polos

Member: Susan Polos
Member: Bindy Fleischman
Member: Ellen Myrick

Member: Christina Moorehead

Member: Alisha Berger

Nominating Committee

Two-year appointment. Prepare slate of nominees for annual election to the Board of USBBY.

Chair: Terry Young (2021)
Member: Kathy East (2021)
Member: Teri Lesesne (2021)
Member: Pat Scharer (2021)

Publications Committee (still need to clarify committee charge)

Monitors, manages, and coordinates USBBY publications

Publicity Committee

Charged with increasing visibility of USBBY and publicizing USBBY projects

Chair: Susan Polos Board Liaison: Evie Freeman

Member: Barbara Scotto (with focus on Facebook Group)

member: Marion Rocco (with focus on Facebook page and webpage)
Member: Ellis Vance (with focus on emails to membership, etc.)

Member: B. P. Barger (with focus on creating a website to replace the *Bridges* Book Series)

Biennial International Bratislava (BIB) Nominating Committee

Chair: Therese Bigelow (2020)

Board Liaison: Ellis Vance

Member: Ed Sullivan (2020)

Member: Molly McLoughlin (2020)

International Opportunities for U.S. Illustrators Committee

Chair: Paul Zelinsky (2020)

Board Liaison: Karen Perry

Member: Kathleen Merz (2020)
Member: David Wiesner (2020)
Member: Nancy Johnson (2020)
Member: Caroline Ward (2020)

USBBY Task Forces

State Ambassadors

Chair: Evelyn Freeman Member: Kathy G. Short

Twinning Partnerships

Chairs: Shanetia Clark
Member: Isaac Larison
Member: Claudette McLinn
Member: Susan Polos

Twinning Countries: EL SALVADOR

HAITI

LEBANON

PALESTINE

SOUTH AFRICA